PDA

View Full Version : Welsh Springer- portrait demo

Deborah Secor
11-07-2008, 11:08 AM
In my recent classes I've been showing my students how to paint a dog. I'm not an expert on this, and would defer to all those here and over in the Animals and Wildlife forum for advice, but you teach what you can... So here's what I consider the basics on dog faces.

I started with a photo from our RIL (Reference Image Library) by Canis Lupess. She takes GREAT dog pix and I often use hers for these demos because they meet the criteria I need: daylight for excellent highlights and shadows, facing the animal directly at eye level, capturing personality and great details.

I recommend you NOT paint from a flash photo! Everything changes--only everything. The light on the coat is distorted, the shadows are over-dark, the highlights in the eyes are false...and the list goes on.

I start by finding the center line of the face, and then measure the line of the eyes, nostrils and bottom of the chin. These lines don't flex. Then I find the top of the head and the sides of the jaw (not the muzzle), plus the angle from the center of the left eye to the center of the left nostril, and the center of the right eye and right nostril. I find that even in the furriest of animals this angle can usually be found, so I use it as a constant reference.

Then I start with my Wallis paper toned, in this case a wiped out painting that left a nice green, which I enhanced, and after choosing the exact composition of the portrait I determine the size and correct proportions for my paper. That helps me with the measuring I do.

I begin with this:

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/07-Nov-2008/23609-welshspringer_canis_lupess_lines2.jpg

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/07-Nov-2008/23609-DSCN1422.JPG