PDA

View Full Version : What Colors to Start With and Tools

tom041652
10-26-2008, 10:57 PM
I am brand new at oil pastels. My background is in Oil and Acrylic painting but I find when I am working on a new piece for painting I want some color in my draft to get a better idea of the composition and colors and after using some cheap student grade Oil Pastels my granddaughter had (way too waxy) but I got a general idea.

I have picked up some pointers here and I believe I am going with a set of the Sennelier Oil Pastels the set of 24 for lanscape and 24 for still life to start with. (http://www.dickblick.com/zz200/38/)

Now my question what paper should I use and other tools for manipulation and blending. I have a set of STABILO 24 CHALK PASTEL PENCILS FOR DETAILS, AND DERWENT STUDIO SET OF 12 COLORED PENCILS. I have plenty of blending stumps, 2nd hand paint brushes. So what else do I need

And yes, like a lot of begginers I over buy when starting out and I don't mind spending money for good paper if it is worth it.

Not sure if I am going to take each piece to a complete finish, I want to get a good idea on color and composition on each piece before I put a brush to the canvas. Will continue reading this thread.

:wave:

Mulberry
11-10-2008, 10:16 PM
Just wondered if you'd gone with your color choices and if you were happy with them? I just bought the Still Life Set, but see that I need to supplement that with another set of 24 (all I can afford). Did those sets together give you a nice mix? Thanks!

tom041652
11-11-2008, 03:40 PM
I opted for the 50 color wooden box. Pretty much all that I need, now I need to figure out how to use them. Need a few tools for blending and maybe some solvent.

Pat Isaac
11-14-2008, 04:38 PM
Hi Tom and welcome to the OP forum. I'm glad you have made some choices, but you would really get a lot more info if you posted in the oil pastel talk forum. Maybe you could copy your original post over there and start a new thread.