PDA

View Full Version : Graduated to Oils..........

Bizkit
09-27-2008, 04:49 PM
I heard this again the other day......Its getting older by the minute, "I used to paint in Acrylic's when I was a beginner". What am In 4th grade here or something??????:evil:

~~Kathleen
09-27-2008, 06:20 PM
You gotta take it where it comes from Mike.
You see, they (well at least some of them) couldn't learn the proper way to paint in acrylics, so they went to the second choice! :)
~~Kathleen

AMuse
09-27-2008, 06:36 PM
I think that people find their own medium. For some people acrylics are easy, for some Oil, for some watercolour, or pastel, or ink or whatever!

I get tired of hearing people put down one medium in favour of another. What I would like is an acknowledgment of great art, no matter how it is achieved. To me it doesn't matter if it is painted in acrylic, or crayon or marshmallows.... as long as it says something.

Aires
09-27-2008, 10:18 PM
Right on, Kathy! You're my kind of poster. From the many beautiful paintings I see in acrylic, I would venture to say that more people will be won over to acrylics by the paintings than by having a chip on the shoulder. The early acrylics were less than many cared for - too "plastic looking, too harsh in color, very apparent color change between wet and dry and rapid drying," for starters. But acrylics have come a long way and are still being improved. My own viewpoint is that it is only a matter of time until the paintings themselves will gain equality between the two mediums. Haven't you all noticed the excitement on both sides of the aisle over the new Golden Opens? Hopefully, this is just the beginning of even more advances for acrylics. No solvents, no flammable waste and no volatile fumes and allergies is a big plus for acrylics - just keep painting folks! You are bound to wind them over with the lovely paintings I see posted everyday on this forum.
:thumbsup: Cheers to all of us who find painting with acrylics such a joy!