PDA

View Full Version : Calling all acrylics experts

bobsart
09-22-2008, 03:32 PM
What are the pros and cons of using a drying retarder in your paint? Has anyone had any bad experiences with it? If not, any particular brands you might want to recommend...........or should I just learn to paint faster?

thanx bob:confused:

thebrush
09-22-2008, 03:37 PM
You don't need to learn how to paint faster just smarter, i have been painting with acrylics for the past 8 years and after awhile you get to know how to handle your paint. Good LUCK

sveldstra
09-22-2008, 03:45 PM
I have a slow-dry blending fluid that I use alot, if that's the same thing. I use it to dilute the colours so I can add multiple layers and build the colours up where I want them. I find it makes blending so much easier and I save alot of time and paint not having to mix each shade individually. The only negative I've encountered is that it puts a gloss coat on the finished product that made taking jpegs for reproduction purposes in the studio, much more difficult, (too much reflection from the sheen). But when I asked other artists they told me the solution was simple, do the photography outside in the shade. It works like a charm. I use a product called Liquitex made in France, but haven't tried any others since I like how this works.

Linee
09-22-2008, 04:15 PM
My spritz bottle of water is never far from my hand. When I feel a bit of tackiness in the paint, I give the pallet a squirt. Works for me. I store unused paint on the pallet in a plastic container with a wet, wadded piece of paper towel.

susme48
09-22-2008, 05:12 PM
For some reason, I don't like using water...but I also use Liquitex slo dri blending gel...love it! It still does not keep it from drying too long...and sometimes still not long enough....:lol: Oh, and I am NOT an expert....pretty new to painting.

jocelynsart
09-22-2008, 05:22 PM