PDA

View Full Version : my first attempt at a portrait..not very good..

Poess
09-08-2008, 10:06 PM
so this is supposed to be my kids..its my first attempt at a portrait and 2nd attempt at painting using a reference photo. This was a pain...but enjoyable.

so...why does it suck???
help..
I attatched the painting and the photo...its a pic I really like of my kids...(don't they look sooo cute???)

thanks for looking and for any suggestions!

Poess
09-08-2008, 10:07 PM
oh, and I had to change my kids' hair than what it was in this pic to try to make it easier..
my youngest has really, really curly hair..

Bizkit
09-08-2008, 10:23 PM
Hollie-
Well, its not THAT bad.....LOL. Seriously, Its not that bad, I really wonder how much you were "Feeling" the painting when you were painting it. I have days when I try to paint and I can really feel like Im not accomplishing anything but pushing paint around. Then there are days when the Magic happens and everything painted comes to life!!!
Ive looked at your site and I think your a very accomplished artist, although, as I said, its not bad, I think......rather, I know you can do better.
Suggestions; keep working on it, youve got the basic shapes down, you just need to make them come to life now. Im not a big fan of the "Family" wording, but thats just me so if you like it keep it!!!!!!
So dont hate me, I wasnt being harsh, just trying to give you a jump to the right direction!

Poess
09-08-2008, 10:28 PM
I appreciate you comments!!
Its so much easier for me to just paint and let it come out. This time I was feeling it, but it's hard to not just do what I want...I'm used to just sitting in front of the canvas and letting it flow..not looking back and forth and readjusting constantly..