PDA

View Full Version : Absolute Beginner!

InkyEss
08-17-2008, 06:20 AM
Hi Everyone!:wave:

What a wonderful forum. :clap: I took a look at the lessons in calligraphy and was sad to see the thread had died... However, it inspired me to have a try. I've never tried calligraphy before though have always admired the work of others.

Most of you seem to be very advanced and the beautiful work here is a joy to view. Please bear with me as I try somewhat awkwardly to get to grips with this - any advice would be very much appreciated as I'm kind of writing in the dark here :D

Armed with a Parker calligraphy pen and with the idea of starting at the beginning I tried the letter A (see below). Please tell me, should the letters be the same width as height? I was not sure to begin with and my A looked far too narrow so I widened it, which looked better. (sorry about the ink blot in the middle :lol: )

*Not quite sure how to get my pics in, but here goes...

TessDB
08-17-2008, 11:58 AM
Hi, Shaz! Glad to see you posting your practice pieces! No hints or suggestions from me, though. My calligraphy attempts are god-awful. :cool:

It looks like you got your images uploaded just fine. :thumbsup: And in case you didn't know, the size limits on images has increased-- as long as it's 72dpi, you can go up to 800x800.

If you can increase the size of your images & repost them, I bet it would be really helpful to the folks who actually know what they're doing with a pen! :lol:

Rosmary

InkyEss
08-17-2008, 12:40 PM
Thank you, Rosemary. I didn't want to bore everyone too much so I made the image not too big. :)

Here is one a little bigger.