PDA

View Full Version : To Varnish or Not to Varnish

artsykira
08-16-2008, 10:07 PM
Hi there,

I am relatively new to acrylic painting and am wondering if most people varnish their paintings?

I'm using Daniel Smith Paints on Dick Blick Premiere Gallery stretched canvases.

I am participating in my first art fair next week to see if I can sell some and am not sure if I need varnish as a last step. None of my books on acrylics really say much about it.

I did a search on varnish, but couldn't find anything very helpful.

Thanks, Kira
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/16-Aug-2008/99078-Lobster1-fw2.jpg

AMuse
08-16-2008, 10:31 PM
I do varnish, after my painting is complete I put on an isolation coat of thinned soft gel (gloss) 2:1 with water.

Then about a week after that dries I varnish. I use a spray varnish, I know some folks use a brush on varnish.

Lady Carol
08-16-2008, 10:56 PM
Varnish, you should varnish :D

The reason being is that it does protect the painting longterm. I also put an isolation coat. Mine is glazing medium (two coats) and then varnish (two coats).

artsykira
08-16-2008, 10:59 PM
Forgive me for sounding ignorant, but the isolation coat does what exactly?

Thanks for your responses - very helpful!

AMuse
08-16-2008, 11:07 PM
The isolation coat separates your painting from the varnish.

The idea being if, for some reason, in the future, the varnish needs to be removed to clean the painting the isolation coat will protect your art.

artsykira
08-16-2008, 11:18 PM
Thanks for that explanation. There's so much to learn! :)

VermillionArt
08-16-2008, 11:22 PM
In school they taught that varnish is entirely optional with acrylics. After all, acrylics are a plastic coat. I do put on a coat of UV protection. Then I decide the look i want. The varnish does make the colors look slightly brighter and adds a little depth. Sometimes i want that, sometimes i don't.

Bizkit
08-16-2008, 11:46 PM