PDA

View Full Version : A total beginner

Micke73
08-12-2008, 07:01 PM
Hi all, I'm a total beginner at painting, matter of fact I got the idea to try it just the other day after watching a program about an artist on tv, and today I went out and bought a few things at a department store. Would I need anything else than the things seen in the picture (there are five canvases on stretcher frames)? I don't have an easel, is that necessary? How about those "paint knives", do I need one of those, and what are they used for anyway? Anything else I might need?

Are the brushes okay? It's a set of 12 brushes sized 1-12, and they're made out of nylon, but I always thought the widest brush for this kind of painting would be way wider than it actually is? And is nylon a good choice for acrylic painting?

I'm not real good at making "photorealistic" drawings or paintings, but acrylic painting looks like fun and I will probably try and make some abstract and/or expressionism style paintings later on.

AMuse
08-12-2008, 08:09 PM
I think to start out and see if you like it or not this set is fine. nylon brushes are fine (I use a lot of them)

no you don't need an easel to start.

just a big container of water and you are on your way.

if you can get the book "Acrylic Revolution" by Nancy Reyner from the library, I would suggest reading that . it's a great way to get to know how acrylic works and has lots of fun things to try in it.

edtree
08-12-2008, 08:19 PM
:wave: Hi Micke! Welcome to WC and the Acrylics Forum!