PDA

View Full Version : A Great Easel!

wakar
07-30-2008, 11:17 PM
Hi all,

I'm new to pastels, just been doing them a couple of months. The other day I was lamenting about not having an easel I could take to class with me. I've been using one of those masonite drawing boards resting against a coffee mug. But since the chairs are low, the tables are high and I'm short, it was very frustrating.

So a couple weeks ago I was trying to design something to suit my needs. One thing I wanted was for it to be adjustabe so it could do double duty in my drawing class. Also I didn't want to use a tripod painting easel because, even though pastels take a soft touch, I just wanted the entire thing supported, like on the masonite.

Well, I decided to look one more time online because the local art supply stores didn't have anything but heavy drawing/drafting boards. And there it was! It was exactly the design I had decided on. It's called Adjustable Table Top Easel (catchy title, eh?:lol:) and Dick Blick has it. So I ordered Monday a week ago and it arrived the following Friday (great service).

I took it to class today and it worked great! I taped the pic I was working from to the upper left hand corner and set my painting (which was on a masonite drawing board) on the the easel. I taped some paper to the bottom to catch dust and the whole thing worked like a charm. Even my teacher said he wanted to get one.

So, the particulars: It's wood with laminated foam core surface that you can tape or push pin on to. It has 8 adjustment levels from flat to 90 degrees upright and the support rod is metal. It only weight 3 1/2 pounds which is fine for taking to class. The surface is 18x24 including the wooden frame and the overall size when folded is 19x26.