PDA

View Full Version : Brothers -- WIP

Bongo1
07-28-2008, 08:58 PM
Here's a portrait of my two sons. I'm also attaching a preliminary, pencil sketch and the reference photo. What do you think? I would really appreciate your constructive criticism. The pastel piece is in its early stages and I would like to make adjustments now rather than later.

Thanks!

bchlvr
07-28-2008, 09:52 PM
I am very very new to pastel but I think it is coming along wonderfully.

water girl
07-28-2008, 11:09 PM
What adorable youngsters! I'm not a portrait painter, but before you go too far, you may have to adjust the upper lip on the child on the right. As it is, it is too straight. Other than that, you have a wonderful start.

binkie
07-29-2008, 01:32 AM
Looks like a great start to me. You have to adorable little boys!!

binkie

Tressa
07-29-2008, 07:05 AM
Great start, and what cuties!:)

CindyW
07-29-2008, 08:45 AM
Bongo1, they are so adorable and their pose is the sweetest!
You are painting them beautifully so far, keep going! I like the palette, too.

You might find this helpful, I put your painting image transparently over the photo and it looks like your older son's head is just a wee bit too small. Just a small fix!
Very nice!

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/29-Jul-2008/51674-wcartistwork.jpg

Bongo1
07-30-2008, 07:50 AM
I tried to fix the older boy's mouth and make some adjustments to the hair to make his head look bigger, but I realize that his face is still too short. Is that a fatal flaw? Please tell me seriously. Can you tell that one child is virtually a newborn and the other a couple of years old?

Thanks,

Bongo1
07-31-2008, 11:56 AM
I would appreciate any comments and criticism that you may have.

Thanks!!!

CindyW
07-31-2008, 02:16 PM
No fatal flaws. I think it's a beautiful portrait of your sons.

M Douglas
07-31-2008, 02:58 PM
Well done so far!! This is going to be a beautiful portrait. And yes you can tell the difference in ages of the two boys.

Melodie