PDA

View Full Version : Do You Paint The Canvas Edge?

mickeyw3340
07-21-2008, 02:46 PM
I am just getting into Acrylics from Pencil, Colored Pencil, and a bit of watercolor. I love the detail I can do with acrylics. I don't have any of my previous work framed , even though I am told it is saleable. (except for a couple that other people framed after I gave them to them) Framing is too expensive for my budget and I don't have the room to do it myself. I am going to try canvas alone. For future saleability is it better to paint the edges all the way to the back, or leave them white? Any tips for this next step in my art will be appreciated.

Chia
07-21-2008, 02:50 PM
Paint 'em!

mickeyw3340
07-21-2008, 02:58 PM
Should I extend the scene around the corners or just the basic or complimentary background? For instance if I have a tree on the right as an eye stopper, should I bring branches and leaves around? Sky and clouds ????

susme48
07-21-2008, 03:06 PM
I have seen it done both ways....and I have done it both ways. I would say go with what you are comfortable with. But that is just me. I would at least go with a color from the pallette you used on the painting.

timelady
07-21-2008, 03:27 PM
You can do it either way. I paint mine white. As long as it looks finished one way or another you'll be fine. :) So if you do want to leave them blank/white I'd recommend cleaning up the sides with gesso once you're done painting.

Tina.

mickeyw3340
07-21-2008, 03:35 PM
Thanks for the input.
I would think that if one were going to do a vignette of some sort and leave the edges white that it would be best to pick a very thin canvas, and if it is a full landscape and you want to paint the sides into the picture that you would want a thick edge. Am I thinking correctly on this thought? I'm excited!!!. :clap: I can finally see a way to get my work displayed at a cost I can afford.

chammi kaiser
07-21-2008, 04:40 PM