PDA

View Full Version : Obama

Smoker
07-11-2008, 02:06 PM
Hi Everyone,

I've never tried painting a person before and not knowing anything about art I figured that it would be a real good idea to get some help.

I decided to try to paint Obama because, hopefully, he will be the next President of the US.

It is acrylic on canvas measuring 14"x18".

Please, any C&C will be greatly appreciated.

Smoker

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/11-Jul-2008/117886-Obama.jpg

Linee
07-11-2008, 02:17 PM
Good likeness.

I hope you don't get flack over a political figure like I did once. ;)

Smoker
07-11-2008, 02:33 PM
Linee - Thanks.

I don't care about the flack. I'm too old and stupid to care about political opinions other than my own.:evil:

OkeeKat
07-11-2008, 03:28 PM
Pretty good likeness Linda!!

debee
07-11-2008, 05:21 PM
Very good likeness. It looks to me as though the pupils of his eyes are a little off. Try turning your ref. and painting upside down to make the correction. Nice work!

Paetau
07-11-2008, 05:46 PM
Thats really good...nice work on the ear...I always have problems with ears!

Ms.Understood
07-11-2008, 07:17 PM
Great likeness--I wish he was bigger and took up more of the space--but that's neither here nor there I suppose.

tonyjazz
07-11-2008, 09:20 PM
Good likeness and looks peeved at something, Maybe Jessie Jacksons remarks...I like it. TJ

~~Kathleen
07-11-2008, 09:32 PM
Not really knowing who this is, I will not comment on the individual.
I do think that the background is too blue, and showing too little support for the portrait.
He is (as well) just sitting there, maybe a bit more in the way of defining the arms and torso might help?
A variance in the colours of the background would probably be more effective!
~~Kathleen

Ms.Understood
07-11-2008, 11:49 PM
Not really knowing who this is, I will not comment on the individual.