PDA

View Full Version : Portrait of my daughter

Vanche
07-09-2008, 11:25 AM
This is my first attempt to paint a real portrait with acrylics. It is on stretched canvas, size 8x10.I used a reference photo of my daughter ,who is 5 years old.CxC are appreciated.

sonita
07-09-2008, 11:36 AM
Wow Vanche, this is lovely...love your colors! Those eyes are just to die for...great job!!
Soni :)

Katwyld
07-09-2008, 11:50 AM
So cute! Nicely done... she's adorable!

LavenderFrost
07-09-2008, 11:52 AM
Very nice!

Vanche
07-09-2008, 01:34 PM
Thank you sonita,Katwyld and LavenderFrost for your warm feedback.I finally found the courage to challenge myself with a portrait and i am glad i did it.While painting my main concern was not make her look older than her age.I had that problem before when drawing or painting kids.

amotwell
07-09-2008, 10:35 PM
What a cutie! And you've done an excellent job, with no "aging" that I can detect! However, I think that there might be a little more shadow below her bottom lip and above her chin, like the brightest part of her chin extends too high or the shadow just above it isn't quite deep enough.

It's hard to know without seeing your reference, though, and she is overall quite well done! :thumbsup:

susme48
07-10-2008, 12:41 AM
Nice job...what a cutie! I love that look...like she could smile or not...totally in control.

OkeeKat
07-10-2008, 12:51 AM
WOW what a great First portrait!! Lovely mix of colors to achieve shadowing, I love it!!! Great Job!!

edtree
07-10-2008, 07:50 AM
:wave: WoW! Great portrait, Vanya, especially considering it's your first in acrylic! She appears to be watching TV, at least that's what the lighting suggests. Very unique and a beautiful effect, in my opinion. The only suggestion I have is to perhaps try and different shadow color under her chin. The way it is now, it looks like her hair. You definitely captured well the look of youth here which as you said, is usually a huge challenge. Excellent job! :thumbsup: :D