PDA

View Full Version : Sketch Lines?

JJW
06-16-1999, 05:24 PM
I am a very novice painter, just starting.

How do I hide my pencil lines or is there a better way of starting my paintings? I currently, lightly sketch in pencil on my canvas, what I am about to paint. I don't put in detail, I only rough out the shapes and sizes and locations to make sure I have the perspective and composition correct.

My problem is that the pencil lines show through the paint. Help! Any ideas or suggestions? I'm game for anything.

santail
06-17-1999, 08:10 PM
I paint on canvas in Acrylic. I draw on the canvas using Alphaclor (24 SQUARE PASTELS).

I lightly sketch out the shapes. Plus, whatever colour I chose to tent the canvas there is a colour pastel that can be seen (on the top).

The pastel erases off with a damp cloth when mistakes are made and nothing ever shows through.

These Pastels are not for use on chalkboards.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/ubb/wink.gif

Artguy29
08-12-2004, 03:48 PM
When I paint with acrylics, I usually sketch my subject with the paint. The color depends on the color of your subject. For example, I just finished a portrait of a dog that was a yellowish-brownish color so I sketched his basic shape with Yellow Ochre. Another way to plan your painting is to block in basic colors. Taking the dog example again, I blocked in the basic colors of his fur without showing the detailed fur. Both are great ways to avoid using pencil on your canvas. Hope this helps,

Dave

Mike Finn
08-12-2004, 07:03 PM
I have been using a "water brush" lately. A brush that has a hollow handle that holds water. I add a very small amount of burnt sienna watercolor to this water and sketch away. Mistakes (on canvas) are wiped away with a damp cloth and the final painting shows no sign of the sketch. One can sketch just lines or fill in shadows etc. Works well for me.

Mike Finn

Silent Jaguar
08-13-2004, 01:35 AM