PDA

View Full Version : Strathmore Pastel paper

JNBoogie
07-05-2008, 03:49 PM
I just started trying pastels on Strathmore pastel paper and it seems I kkep getting mud....is it me or the paper...I am very new to pastels but the paintings I have done on just regular sketch/drawing paper have been much better.....I was thinking of trying sanded paper...would the mudding get even worse...maybe being new I should stick to the basics and worry about using better papers later..any suggestions?:(

nana b
07-05-2008, 04:05 PM
Hi Joanne, welcome to pastels! I say get some sanded paper and try it. I think you will be very much encouraged. You can still make mud but you will have a lot more time to work before that happens and you can always brush some mistakes off and get the tooth back over and over.
If you are really serious about learning pastels, don't skimp on quality paper or pastels. You didn't mention what kind of pastels you are using but I encouage you to buy some archival sanded paper and a few really good pastels and see what happens. You will be hooked, I promise!

nana

Scottyarthur
07-05-2008, 04:14 PM
Welcome Joanne to the wonderful world of pastels. normally you get mud on any paper if you over blend. Buy what you can afford. I like the canson Mitenies paper and the fabriano Ingers paper but the better sanded papers are the colorfix and the wallis the wallis is best and the price shows it.

PeggyB
07-05-2008, 04:42 PM