PDA

View Full Version : Inspiration for newbies....

JNBoogie
07-03-2008, 11:06 PM
Hi all...I am a newbie to both wet canvas and to pastel painting...I asked one member in a private message but then I thought other newbies might be interested into any insight you veterans could share....Basically, I am wondering how long have y'all been painting with pastels, ..I strive for realism in my paintings and would really appreciate any tips...do you have any suggestions for getting better at painting (in addition to practice,practice, practice), how often do you paint, what do you prefer to paint on (paper, board, etc.)...how long before you sold your first painting...I just think selling a painting would be exhilirating..any advice for newbies would be appreciated..I know there is also a tips for newbies thread but I was looking for more of like a mentoring session....thanks again:D

DAK723
07-04-2008, 08:46 AM
How to improve (in no particular order):

Go to the library or bookstore and get art how-to books.

Take art classes or workshops.

Look at works of art as often as possible. Try to figure out what it is that you like about each work.

Visit WetCanvas as often as possible!

Paint as often as you can and practice, practice...Don't be afraid to experiment and have failures. Doing the same thing successfully over and over will teach you nothing.

Don't paint with idea of selling. Paint with the idea of learning something new about painting, and ultimately about creating something unique and beautiful.

Just my opinions! Good Luck!

Don

Tressa
07-04-2008, 10:12 AM
Hi Joanne,

First, we were all newbies at one time, and in my opinion, we also, never stop learning, or trying to broaden our experiences. Always strive to push yourself in trying new things, but also concentrate on one thing. Richard McKinley advises to pick one thing and try different approaches. In other words, pick a subject or genre, and try different techniques, papers, application, etc...