PDA

View Full Version : Time for Introductions!

sagehen
07-16-2002, 10:33 AM
Well, I guess it's time I get polite and introduce myself! I began lampworking in 1999, and am hopelessly addicted. My glass work started with stained glass and then has grown into include fusing as well. I am a self taught in the glass arts, and am also teaching myself silversmithing. I have wanted to work with glass since I was a kid. I lived just a few blocks away from the Bullseye factory for a couple of years, and always had my face pressed to the window drewling over the glass. I have always done crafts, and was a wildlife and western oil painter for a number of years, but that just wasn't my niche. Although I do pick up my brushes from time to time.

We presently live in Nebraska, on a small farm and raise Suffolk sheep and registered show rabbits. (Netherland Dwarfs, Holland Lops and Havana's.) Both of my kids (17 & 15) are active in showing in 4-H and open ARBA rabbit shows.

I am really glad to find this site, I am an ISGB member, but find surfing more that one forum refreshing! Nice to "meet" everyone!

Katie

Elankat
07-16-2002, 10:39 AM
Welcome to WetCanvas Katie! If you need any help with things, there is a New Users forum. It's a great place to get answers. :D

MarySarah
07-16-2002, 10:40 AM
Hi Katie, Welcome to WC!

I'm your neighbor to the east ... I live in Iowa. We have an annual 'fair' here (called Cattle Congress) that used to have lots of livestock (and the usual rides, quilts, baking contests, etc. .... and Tom Thumb doughnuts, of course!) I've always loved the lop-eared rabbits. Now the animal part of the fair is down to basically two barns they call the "Hall of Breeds." It's too bad ... even though I grew up in Iowa, the only place I ever saw farm animals was at the Cattle Congress ... and now there aren't many to see.

Cheers,

Mary (who always wanted a little lamb for a pet) :D

Kathy Champion
07-16-2002, 10:47 AM