PDA

View Full Version : Storing pastel paintings.

teranja
06-30-2008, 09:01 AM
I know that this must have been asked a hundred times before and if so, please point me in the right direction but...how do I store pastel paintings?? I have only just started pastels and at the moment they are on easels but I need to be able to store them another way without them smudging, preferably flat.

Any help would be appreciated.

Oh and should I use fixative on the paintings?

Thanks....Terry

plindley
06-30-2008, 09:25 AM
HI,
I use glassine paper, slightly larger than the piece, folded over the top of the picture and taped to the back with acid free tape. THis has two advantages - the glassine paper doesn't pick up the pastel and also is extremely smooth and you can actually put one picture on top of another (on a horizontal shelf) and they slide nicely. There may be reasons that I am unaware of which would suggest this is the wrong way to go (I am fairly new at this) but so far it has worked well. The Glassing paper is also translucent, so you can see which piece is where. It is pretty cheap too.

Pat

Deborah Secor
06-30-2008, 09:55 AM
It's from a couple of years ago, but take a look at this thread (http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=316729). I wrote an article about it, and this was part of my research! Ther's a lot of discussion there.

I now use Clear Bags (www.clearbags.com) to store all my unframed work.

Deborah

nana b
06-30-2008, 10:44 AM
Deborah, which ones do you use, the fold and seal, the sleeves only or the hang ups? And also, do you order the exact size you need or larger to make sure they will fit? I can't remember now what percentage they allow to be off. I'm thinking the ones that hang up would be great for storage. Thanks,

nana

CM Neidhofer
06-30-2008, 11:13 AM