PDA

View Full Version : Need easel info

JNBoogie
06-28-2008, 03:37 PM
Hi all...I am brand new to wet canvas..in fact, this is my first post...woohoo:wave: I am also new to drawing/panting and I really enjoy pastels...I am interested in getting an easel (right now I work flat)...I have been looking at table top easels but worry that I may eventually want to do some plein air work....I live in a studio apt so I am not even sure if a table top easel for use in my apt is such a good idea...any info would be much appreciated..thanks Joanne:cat: :thumbsup:

Deborah Secor
06-28-2008, 04:53 PM
Welcome Joanne! :wave:

There are a lot of threads with easel info but my advice would be to get an easel that works on the table or has legs you can extend so you can use it on the floor, too. I'm sure lots of people will have advice for you.

Deborah

WC Lee
06-28-2008, 05:52 PM
If you are looking for just an easel with nothing else, I would recommend the Winsor & Newton Aluminum Bristol Watercolor Easel or the Mabef 27 field easel. Both can extend the legs to be used on the ground or the legs retracted for use on a table. The mabef 27 has a couple of shelf arms that can be used to place your box of pastels on.

But if you are considering looking for a pastel box/2 panel dry box/easel combination, I like the EasyL Versa.

Scottyarthur
06-29-2008, 12:54 PM
Wow it really depends on needs. I have about 8 of them all different.