PDA

View Full Version : a newbie with a question of fur

pui
06-17-2008, 06:29 AM
Hi everyone! I'm a newbie to pastel (in fact i'm a newbie to the world of art :)) I've tried drawing pastel but found many problems especially about drawing fur. When I draw fur more than two layers, the new layer always smudges the layer underneath. How should I solve this problem without destroy the paper surface? Please help me. Thank you :)
ps. this web is marvellous. I'm overwhelmed with many inspirations and fantastic pictures :)

Tressa
06-17-2008, 07:33 AM
Hi and Welcome:wave: , First, a couple of questions; what kind of paper are you using, and type of pastels? Sticks or pencils? This can affect the application and layering of fur.
Tres

pui
06-17-2008, 08:43 AM
Hi Tressa! I use Derwent's pastel pencil on canson paper. sorry I don't have any scanner or camera to photo my drawing. I tried to draw kitty but troubled with smudging when I layered the fine furs (and the rough furs I drawn underneath tend to move off). Thanks for joining the topic :)

Tressa
06-17-2008, 08:56 AM
If you can get yourself some sanded paper, Wallis, La Carte, or Colourfix, this will help your problem. The Canson has very little tooth, and will not take a lot of layering, or abuse. The Derwent pencils are a bit on the hard side, so when you try to layer, they are probably just moving your original pastel off or around. Another good surface to use for animals is suede or velour matboard. Most framers have scrap you can get very cheaply.
Here are a couple of examples.
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/17-Jun-2008/76189-PICT0016.JPG This is on velour paper mounted on matboard.using sticks
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/17-Jun-2008/76189-PICT0015.JPG This is on La Carte
with Stabillo pencils
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/17-Jun-2008/76189-PICT0074.JPG This is on Wallis using sticks.