PDA

View Full Version : Teaching overseas

DichroDiva
07-14-2002, 04:20 PM
Has anyone ever taught in England? I have tentatively been invited to teach in London. Anyone know about fuel, equipment, etc? Thanks and Hugs Karen

BAM
07-14-2002, 06:02 PM
I've never taught anywhere, I am a student at this point. Kate Fowle teaches in England, perhaps she can help you out. I don't believe she visits WC so, you'd have to contact her. Her site is www.KateFowle.com.

Good luck. How exciting, a teaching assignment in England. Need a helper? I'll do anything, clean your mandrels, take out the trash.
Betty

Laura Brito
07-14-2002, 06:16 PM
If they have a studio with equipment for you I would say yes, wihtout it I would have to really think about it.

Problem is, torches and everything you need is really expensive, my friend Leah Fairbanks really has her work cut out for her, she lugs around a ton of stuff, it is all really heavy, some of it is frowned on here in the US by the airlines, some of it may or may not be able to be transported by plane, you might have to mail it! ack! That would be scary to me. She has special equipment to feed all the lines into one, so she can service them all with gas and air, it really gets tough. I have helped her and it really opened by eyes.

It is a tough call and it would really depend on how much and where you would be staying, in someone's home, in a hotel $$$. It can be tough.

Laura

Anne Londez
07-14-2002, 07:52 PM
Try and contact Kate Drew-Wilkinson, she is english and teaches there from time to time.
Anne

Anne Londez
07-14-2002, 07:57 PM
Oops forgot: she is registered here under KD-W
Anne

KD-W
07-14-2002, 11:58 PM