PDA

View Full Version : Best way to clean palette

lindasarto
06-08-2008, 02:57 PM
I'm just getting into oil painting after a 30+ year absence from it am an wondering how you all clean your palettes if you are NOT using disposable ones. I am using one that has the small divided sections around the perimeter and the flat center for mixing paints as I am traveling for lessons. Now that several paints have accumulated and started to dry I am dreading the clean up process. Any hints? THANKS!

oilpainter98
06-08-2008, 03:02 PM
one way to do it is to wipe the remaining paint off before it dries, then take a
rag soaked in thinners to wipe off the rest. if you have a palette that has a grain on it (which i use mostly) i wouls wipe off the majority of the paint, let it dry, then scrape it with a razor and get most of the rest.

keenart
06-08-2008, 03:07 PM
I use the traditional wood palette, and scrap off the excess after each painting session. It goes into a jar, my mud color for later use.

For acrylics I use cermaic watercolor floral dishes and when the paint hardens I fill with tape water and after about a half hour the dried paint lifts right of of the wells.

For welled palettes, and you did not say whether plastic or ceramic, you do not want the paint to dry if possible. But you can soak the palette in 5 weight motor oil for a couple of days and the paint should lift off with a little help. Or, if like me you can use the Hardware Store paint remover. The mild version if possible.

Einion
06-09-2008, 11:44 AM
Any common vegetable oil can be used to remove oil paint from surfaces, as long as it hasn't dried. Safflower, sunflower, corn oil, rapeseed, whatever's cheapest where you are will work fine. If you feel the need to remove the slight film of oil left behind after wiping then any mineral spirits will do the job.

Einion

Naturegyrll
06-09-2008, 12:40 PM
Yeah, you only have to let it dry on your palette once to learn that lesson! HA!