PDA

View Full Version : Yellow Pepper Top

chatfieldstudios
06-06-2008, 06:52 PM
Hi All, I wanted to try the broken color technique that I have seen people do. This is my first attempt, although it was going to be a colored pencil piece.

The first photo is the underpainting with Prismacolor archival markers (an experiment). For me to use colored pencils I shouldn't have had the hard edges in the change of values of the pepper. Too hard to cover up with the transparency of the cp's. That's when I decided to try the pastels.

The second photo is the finished piece 5 x 7 on Ampersand Pastelbord. Mostly Ludwig's...

I don't know if the texture of the pastel suits the texture of the pepper. But when you stand away from it, it does look quite nice.

Any comments or critique are always welcome:wave:

Donna T
06-06-2008, 07:50 PM
I really like how this turned out! Your colors vibrate and glow, even the background has interesting color gradations. I never thought to use markers for an underpainting ... neat idea!

Donna

chatfieldstudios
06-06-2008, 08:54 PM
Thank you Donna....the Prisma markers are lightfast, acid free and archival, so the quality should be there.

I hope to try this process out again to see what I can do with it on a bigger piece.

IMaybe
06-07-2008, 12:34 AM
:) Thanks for showing this! I love the under painting, and the ambersand boards are nice to use. The finished pepper is great!, especially the stem! It looks so real with light hitting it! great food for thought!

Artaholic
06-07-2008, 01:46 AM
Wow the colors realy pop out , niceprocess!!

Tressa
06-07-2008, 07:00 AM
Looks great, and colors glow...Someone on here used to use these markers for underpainting. I bought a set, but did not like using on larger pieces. Might try again on something small .
Tres

chatfieldstudios
06-07-2008, 10:44 AM
Thank you IMaybe, Artaholic! I appreciate your comments.