PDA

View Full Version : Do OP's harden with age?

Phil Coleman
06-02-2008, 01:38 PM
I am quite new to this medium and also a little inquisitive, so I hope you do not mind me asking a few questions.
Well I finally acquired some oil pastels after purchasing the wrong product on two occasions!
What i would like to ask is do the Oil Pastels themselves ( the sticks ) have a limited life, or perhaps what I want to ask is do they tend to loose their softness over time. I have seen some being offered for sale and have considered purchasing them providing they are still likely to be as soft as the new ones available?
I have so far acquired some Caran d'arch neopastels and after having a play with those I can now appreciate the benefit of using the softer senneliers in conjunction with them.

Thanks!

AnnieA
06-02-2008, 03:45 PM
Phil: Hi there! Questions are always welcomed here, so you should never worry about that.

I've had a set of Sennelier OPs for about 10 years now. I'm happy to report that they all still seem soft and easy to work with. I say this with one caveat, however: it may be a little difficult to tell, since there are subtle differences in softness and other handling characteristics of each Senn OP depending on the pigment(s) used. These small differences are noticable between Senns made of different pigments in brand new Sennelier OPs as well. The fact that there are differences anyway may make it more difficult to notice any differences based on age. But in the Senns I've had to replace when the original one in the set was used up, I haven't noticed any difference in handling characteristics.