PDA

View Full Version : Loew Cornell Soft Pastels?

AppleSaucy
05-28-2008, 04:54 AM
Another Newbie here, and before I read (and read, and read) on this forum I had purchased a 48 count box of Loew Cornell pastels. I have not seen them mentioned here, and I have not opened them, so they could still be returned. Does anyone know whether or not they are lightfast?

I see suggestions on wonderful brands that I have in mind for the future, but thought these might be a place to begin. Yet if they are considered student grade or have other problems, I don't want my pastel learning experience to be influenced by poor materials.

Thanks!

Muffin_4377
05-28-2008, 01:37 PM
The first set of pastels I ever bought was Loew cornell Pastels ...little CHEAP 12 piece grey tone set. I had NO info or experience on pastels previously...I figured, being the "oooooh what's that?!!" kinda art supply shopper that I am, I figured I'd try them out. Move ahead about a year.....realizing that having a 2 yr old and watercolour painting don't really mix, I pulled out the Loew Cornells and gave them a try.
I did this....
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/28-May-2008/36417-PearsSP.JPG
And then right after I did this....
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/28-May-2008/36417-PumpkinsSPs.JPG

I feel in love instantly with the feel of pastel.....off to wetcanvas I went, researched everything I could on Pastel brands, then promptly went to the art supply store and put my order in for some artist grade pastels. That was ahhhh about 4 yrs ago....