PDA

View Full Version : Pastel dust question?

Pebpebba
05-28-2008, 12:11 AM
:)
Hello my name is Bonnie.
I am very new to pastels, and am excited about them already! ooohhhh the lovely colors. I do mostly graphite and colored pencil. But i've always wanted to try pastels. And all the wonderful work i've seen here shows the possibilities of pastel. I can't wait to try my own piece!
Although i do have one question, i know pastels are a dusty medium. But can they be done in a bedroom with minimal dust?
I have a friend who isn't able to use anyother part of her house to do pastels,as there are children around a lot. And she would like to learn along with me,and her bedroom is the only quiet private place to do them in.
unless she is at my place, which she can't always be.
ok.. any help or ideas would be appreciated
thank you :wave:

klord
05-28-2008, 02:28 AM
Hello Bonnie,

Several things come to mind about keeping the dust down.

Try not to leave the pastels uncovered while not being used. Close the boxes or make a cover to place over your pastels.

One should never blow the pastel off of the surface. If you need to remove a passage or get rid of the build up of dust take the piece outside and bang on the back of the board/paper.

If you/she can work on a porch or outdoors sometimes this would be great.

If you are working upright, place a dust tray underneath your board, this can be as simple as a long narrow piece of paper wider than your easel and folded upwards to capture the dust that falls.

You can also place a large towel on the floor surrounding your work area to help keep the dust from the rest of the carpet/floor. This then can be carefully folded up taken outside and shaken.

Wipe down surfaces with a damp cloth as often as possible, preferably after a session. Damp is important so that the pigment will attach to the cloth and not get blown back into the air.