PDA

View Full Version : "Just the Two of Us"--A Portrait WIP (skin tones & hair)

Elankat
07-10-2002, 11:11 PM
Since there have been so many questions about skin tones and portraiture lately, I thought I'd do progress pics with color explanations on my latest CP piece.

Now, for the record, I'd like to state that I'm no expert or authority. This is only the second CP portrait that I've ever done. However, it will give you an idea of how I work and if you don't like it or it turns out awful, then you will know what NOT to do. :)

So, let's start with the ref pic. This will be my second entry for this month's Double Portrait art project.

Here's the image I am using (after cropping it)...

Elankat
07-10-2002, 11:27 PM
I love to do portraits that speak to me on an emotional level, so I find myself enchanted with double portraits. I like to find out all I can about the subject when doing a portrait because it is so important that I try to convey the emotion. So, I asked Mary Jane (photographer45) for some information about the two. The woman is named Karen. Her husband died when she was pregnant with her first and only son. I always like to have a title in my head when I start. I decided this one will be called "Just the Two of Us." That may change when I finish it, but that's how I catalog it in my head right now.

It is 16" by 20" on Stonehenge with Prismacolor CPs. My husband says that I am insane for working CP this size, but I need to start testing my stamina for larger pieces.

At this point, I have laid out my most basic shapes in graphite. I have erased some and gone over them in very light CP lines. I follow Ann Kullburg's method of skin tones, for the most part. It's not the only way to do it, but I like her method.

The background has Tuscan Red in the darkest areas. I've laid in Goldenrod where the pine branches will be and covered all of it with a layer of Chartreuse.