PDA

View Full Version : Glassworking/Music Connection

prairieson
07-09-2002, 03:07 PM
I wonder how many glass artists out here also have roots in music? I've been a musician for decades and recently started working in glass... lampwork/beadmaking and offhand glasswork. After a particularly intense day in front of the furnace I was struck by certain similarities between glasswork and music.

Most significantly that both arts are constrained by time.

In music, the essence of the art is the immersion in the moment, and the result is completely dependent on the execution of that moment, never to be recovered or corrected. You can practice and prepare, and you can have expectations, but the music itself is of the instant it is executed. And sometimes the creation is a totally unexpected thing, good or bad.

That day in the studio, I realized that exactly the same thing could be said of glasswork. And it occured to me that the real art isn't the bead or paperweight or recording, those are only reminders of the real art... the art of the moment.

So anyway, I'm curious as to your musical connections and thoughts on the relationship between glass and music.

Modesto
07-09-2002, 03:16 PM
I do and see a strong connection. Check this thread:
http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=48317

Anne Londez
07-09-2002, 05:05 PM
I agree too. Although neither glass nor music have been my main activity, I've been heavily involved in both (although glass is much more recent) and I was saying that if I ever ditch my real job, I would like to earn my living doing both. Probably not very practical, but it's only a dream for now.
Anne :cool:

b2beads
07-09-2002, 06:21 PM
Well, I wanted to be a rock singer....so I went to a small private school for a music degree. Of course, I ended up in computers. And now, melting glass. Works for me... B2

margaretz
07-09-2002, 07:01 PM
Prarieson, well articulated, astute observations.