PDA

View Full Version : Watersoluble Pastels and Colored Pencils

barbara-in-color
04-23-2008, 11:49 AM
Hi,
I am a colored pencil artist. I have read that some use water soluble pastels as an underpainting and then apply cp over it. Are they referring to water soluble oil pastels? I have never used them.
Also, what are your favorite Oil pastel art instruction books?

Thanks so much for your ideas.:wave:

wabbitt
04-23-2008, 02:27 PM
Hi Barbara, first I'm taking a big assumption that you intend to cover up your underpainting to call your work CP, as opposed to mixed media.

I've played with the Portfolio and Caran D'ache watersoluble oil pastels enough to know that it won't completely dissolve. When you start putting colored pencils over it, you'll be scratching away what's left with your first layer of CP because the CP will still be harder than OP, which in case you didn't know never completely dry...not even the WS ones. If you apply the OP lightly with the intent to dissolve it all, it'll be like CP over watercolor.

If my assumption was wrong, then I don't think it would matter if the OP chunks (maybe it'll look more like shavings) show or not.

Something I've been playing with lately is dissolving regular oil pastels with Turpenoid. I hated it over a gessoed surface because it got sticky and two weeks later I still don't like that the surface is too soft to put another OP layer. However on cold press watercolor paper and bristol vellum, the extra turp gets absorbed into the paper and eventually dries, meanwhile I can continue layering OP's on top. The look of the OP/turp underpainting is similar to the washed out watercolory look of the watersoluble OPs. I haven't tried it yet, but I've heard you can blend CP's with turpenoid too. I imagine it would be like working with watercolor pencils.

Pat Isaac
04-23-2008, 03:35 PM