PDA

View Full Version : Pop-Portrait

FirstMidnightrose
04-16-2008, 05:13 PM
MY IMAGE(S):
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Critiques/upload_spool/04-16-2008/138356_Dscn4231_WM.jpg

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Critiques/upload_spool/04-16-2008/138356_pop.jpg

GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: Pop-Portrait
Year Created: 2007
Medium: Oil
Surface: Canvas
Dimension: 16X20
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
I painted my Grandfather as a gift for my Grandmother. My Grandfather was a very mischievious, playful man with a great sense of humor. He was well known and well loved. I was very scared in attempting to paint him, as I wanted so much to catch him as he was. This is my first attempt at a portrait with glasses.

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
Did I catch his mischievious spirit? Any suggestions for future portraits(as this one is already hanging at Grandmothers). Is there a "likeness"? Open to any and all suggestions!!!

D.W. Flint
04-16-2008, 09:19 PM
This is great painting. He does look like he's about to pull a fast one. And you captured a good likeness too. Also, good job on the glasses. If you're still working on it I might darken the shadow side a bit, and the back of the chair is a little distracting. Only personal suggestions though. Good one :thumbsup:

OkeeKat
04-16-2008, 10:26 PM
Wow Remarkable Likeness!! Excellent portrait. I have yet to attempt a human portrait.. you did wonderful!!

aspybey
04-16-2008, 10:58 PM