PDA

View Full Version : Waterfall

myconation
04-10-2008, 05:03 PM
MY IMAGE(S):
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Critiques/upload_spool/04-10-2008/137555_Scannedwaterfall.jpg

GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: Waterfall
Year Created: 2008
Medium: Acrylic
Surface: Paper
Dimension: 9x12
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
This is the first painting I had ever attempted. Done with brush and knife. I know it has a lot to be desired, but I do like the energy of the water at the bottom of the falls. Anyway like I said I am new to art and my prefered medium is oil but, but this first attempt is what got me hooked.

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
Many issues I am sure with this one, but I love the feeling of it....critique as you may. Be honest. I wont cry...

Corby
04-10-2008, 11:05 PM
it does have a great deal of good energy! It has the problem that I often see with acrylic, hard bright color. It is much to intensely blue. I will be the first to admit to a strong preference for oil, but it is good to branch out and come to terms with other media.

MRSBB
04-11-2008, 12:00 AM
I like your painting and think you have done a wonderful job on the rocks and conveying the power of the falls, but agree with Mr.C L.M.Tone down the falls to closer resemble the color of the back water and maybe just add a little of the intense blue for highlights. If this is your first painting you can be proud as you did get your message across. Acrylic is fast drying and easy to fix, but maybe you just want to keep this one and paint another one like it with lighters values. Keep painting and posting, it's fun........Lenore

tony1
04-11-2008, 08:49 AM