PDA

View Full Version : Best way to pack a pastel drawingfor shipping?

Troo
04-08-2008, 04:44 PM
Hi there

I'm a newbie when it comes to the art business. I've recenly gotten an enquiry from a buyer that is interested in one of my pastel drawings. The buyer has asked if I've fixed my drawing as she's worried it will get damaged in the process of shipping.

I did fix the drawing when I finished it, but when I ran my finger over it... whoaaa.... off came some pastel dust. I fixed the drawing as I worked in the various layers, and the last layer got a more 'gentle' coat of fixative.
So, should I go out and get better fixative??? (The last time I did a pastel drawing was about 15 years ago and the top layer of that one is still stable, I can run my finger over it and not pick up pastel dust - as I've only recently gotten back into fine art, I've lost touch with what are the best ways to do stuff..) or is this the norm with pastels??

And what is the best way to pack a pastel drawing for shipping? In a core or flat??

Diane Cutter
04-08-2008, 05:02 PM
Troo... Welcome to Wet Canvas and congratulations on a sale. I'm going to move this over to the soft pastel forum because I know they have lots of good advice on shipping of pastels...

Diane
Moderator - Business forums

Eclectic_Asylum
04-28-2008, 05:36 AM
Flat is definitely the best way to ship.

I use foamcore to build a shipping container. Two 1/2 inch thick sheets and strips of thinner foamcore cut 1 inch wide. I border the bottom sheet with the thin strips so when the top sheet goes on it creates a sandwich with an open space in the middle.

I tape the edges of the work to the bottom layer of the sandwich in the open space. I always leave extra paper around the border of the work so the tape never is on a finished area.