PDA

View Full Version : Help on choosing student oil pastels..

youtin
04-04-2008, 02:39 PM
Hi! I'm new to the OP forum and I'm interested in rediscovering oil pastels again.. Oil pastel has been one of my most hated mediums (the other was watercolor) and since I've tried dabbling with watercolor again and turning my hate for it into "love", why not give oil pastel another try?;)

I'm looking into getting some lower-cost pastels and I remember seeing sets of Sakura Expressionist, Mungyo Gallery, Pentel, Neocolor, Van Gogh and some Faber Castell in open stock (though the available colors would have been severely depleted by now) being sold in shops. Mungyo Gallery and Pentel are the only brands with sets of 32 and above colors. Which do you think is the best buy for student OPs? What would blend well? By the way, I still have a few of my Pentel OP sticks from way back in grade school..:D

I know it's best to get the artist grade, but since I'm not sure if oil pastels are really for me, I'm hesitant to shell out a lot of dough. Aside from that, it's extremely rare and expensive to find fine quality art supplies in my country (a tiny tube of artist grade watercolors cost more than the daily minimum wage!:eek:) And I can't order online either. Maybe I'll request some Holbeins from my bf in Japan when we see each other again, but I'd like to be sure before making such an expensive request!:cat:

Shirl Parker
04-04-2008, 03:41 PM
I liked Pentel best of the student variety, then maybe expressionist. I didn't like the Van Gogh at all, too hard and difficult to blend. I only paid $5 for my Pentels which I bought in Mexico. If you like OP after using those, and want to go for some artist quality, some are touting the new Erengi (?) which are under $100. And EP only uses about 8 colors, so you could buy a starter pack of Sennelier.

Tracy Lewis
04-04-2008, 04:17 PM