PDA

View Full Version : New to printmaking

Dave's in Florida
06-30-2002, 11:16 AM
I haven't seen as much activity here as in other areas of WetCanvas, so here's my little contribution.

I'm new to printmaking and have just one print.

No matter how hard I tried, I couldn't get my scanned image to less than 107 kb to post here and have any representation of what it really looks like. And since images are "summarily deleted" if over 100kb, it's at this webpage (CLICK ON PHOTOS) for your comment.

http://home.att.net/~d.a.grubbs/wsb/index.html

Carrie
06-30-2002, 11:45 AM
Hope you had fun doing your print. If this was our first one I'm sure there will be many more to come. It is a process with so many possibilities. The more prints you pull, the more you learn and it seems our moderator is a wealth of knowledge. You have good simple subject matter with the girl and the bottle. Try pulling a few more pints from your block and see if you can get more clear impression around her raised hand. I love the area of bricks at her feet.
Carrie

Dave's in Florida
06-30-2002, 11:19 PM
Thanks, Carrie. I appreciate your comments -- I'll be reworking that linoleum some more now to remove some of the clutter around the uplifted left hand, and perhaps print on dark paper with a light ink color.

I spent 4 hours tonight fooling around with multiple block printing, experimenting, and learning as go. I'm excited to be able to pick the brains of so many talented people here at WetCanvas.

Little Old Lady
07-01-2002, 09:01 PM
Very interesting print and title.
JoAnn

sassybird
07-05-2002, 04:49 PM
Dave, I for one have been chained to my press, and have not had time to do much posting. I hope to do so very soon though. Do you mainly work in lino? Most of my work is intaglio, but I also enjoy lino and monoprinting.

Dave's in Florida
07-05-2002, 08:22 PM