PDA

View Full Version : Call for articles!

scottb
06-30-2002, 01:26 AM
Hey glass folks, now that you've found your own corner of WC!, how about some folks volunteering to put some articles together on the "basics"? Like many of our members here, I'm new to the glass scene. I'd love to see an article on the basic materials needed, and possibly some beginner techniques. Any takers? :D

Cheers.
Scott

BlackDotMags
06-30-2002, 02:11 AM
Hi, Scott :)

Basic hot glass instruction is too broad and complex a topic for an article or two to cover, mostly because one needs to first thoroughly understand the safety aspects of working with 1700 degree molten glass and tanked fuel gases. There are whole books written on the subject, but even those still leave a novice glass worker for want of more detailed information. I'd hate to have someone get seriously injured or killed from lack of adequate knowledge.

The best course of action, IMO, for someone wanting to get into this field is to take a class with a knowledgeable, experienced hot glass instructor.

An article on techniques, on the other hand, is very do-able, and I'd be willing to write one or more for the website. :)

Mags
~~~~~~

Mike E etc
06-30-2002, 08:38 AM
I did read up on the article process. I have one in mind.
Mike E

generationsglass
06-30-2002, 09:01 AM
I've also got an idea for an article that I plan to start working on this week.

Elankat
06-30-2002, 09:27 AM
Eventually, I'll be doing one on the basics of how large scale furnace work is done. I don't need to worry so much about the safety issues, since it's very expensive to set up and if you locate a shop, the master blower won't let you just step in the hot shop. :)

b2beads
06-30-2002, 09:43 AM
You guys are all so great! Can't wait to read all these. And LeAnne, I'm fascinated by furnace work - can't wait to learn more. I have not heard of any hot shops locally, but I know of one or two in Omaha. Need to check them out!

B2 :clap:

Dale_M