PDA

View Full Version : Hello from a new member

A123456!
03-02-2008, 12:11 PM
Hello from Israel, :music:
I am a new member and the following is a quick bio.
I am an architect with a PhD in philosophy. How that came about took about 15 years to accomplish in order to find an answer to something that bothered me for years. How could Michaelangelo (who was probably the greatest architect of all time) design a torture chamber in his magnificent palazzos? There is a discrepancy here between moral values and aesthetic ones. But enough about that.
When entering college I had to decide between painting or architecture. I decided to eat and did my degree in architecture, but I never stopped drawing.
Right now I am interested in getting some information about pastel drawing. I had always been a water colorist and now I'm doing pastels and loving getting my fingers dirty with pastel dust. How do I make my own fixative (I hate those fixative sprays? How does one frame a pastel without having anybody or anything touch the powdered surface? Which forum should I be in to get some feed back?
Herb

artist_pw
03-02-2008, 02:34 PM
Hi:

I'm sure other people will add to this, but since I'm the first person to respond, here is a bit of information. Pastel paintings are usually framed under glass with bit of space between the surface of the glass so it doesn't actually touch the pastel image. There are some methods to frame pastels with glass where the pastel actually does touch the glass, but I haven't personally seen any of those. There's another method I've heard about and seen a few examples of 'glassless' pastel paintings, where there's a method used to varnish or somehow fix the pastel to allow it to safely be framed with covering it. I think there are some threads here with that topic, and I found some searching for 'glassless'.

Hope this helps, and I hope you like this great site!

Willemke
03-02-2008, 04:17 PM