PDA

View Full Version : What exactly each item does

klrecer
02-27-2008, 01:10 PM
Okay so I'm still really new at this and I read and read and read and I still have tons of questions. What exactly do certain things do? ie like gesso or the mineral spirits...do shapers do the same thing tortillions do? I'm so confused and I want to try everything but I'm just not sure what to do or where to start.

Pat Isaac
02-27-2008, 04:37 PM
Kirecer, I moved your thread over here, so people will see it.
Gesso is a ground that you paint on canvas, paper, board to protect the surface and to give a texture to your oil pastel. This is often done on non archival surfaces to preserve the painting. May paper now come with their own textured surface so gesso is not necessary.
Mineral spirits is used to spread the oil pastels usually for an underpainting and to blend the colors.
Shapers and tortillions do basically the same thing, but I find the shapers (firm) much more flexible.
Does this help?

Pat

klrecer
02-27-2008, 05:20 PM
So for the mineral spirits you can use it to actually do a basic allover background before actually starting the piece? Are there any certain ones that are better then others?

Pat Isaac
02-27-2008, 05:40 PM
Actually other media will work for an underpainting. You can use watercolor, acrylic or a thin layer of oil paint. All of these work well for an underpainting for oil pastel.

Pat

AnnieA
02-27-2008, 07:38 PM
Let me expand a bit on what Pat said about underpainting:

Mineral spirits is a solvent, like turpentine. The most common method of using mineral spirits for oil pastellists is to create an underpainting. Dictionary.com defines the term "underpainting" in this way:

un·der·paint·ing
noun
the first coat of paint, esp. the initial painting on a canvas in which the major areas, tones, colors, and forms are indicated in mass.
[Origin: 1865-70; under- + painting]
Dictionary.com Unabridged (v 1.1)
http://dictionary.reference.com/search?q=underpainting