PDA

View Full Version : Orange Rose

Vanche
02-22-2008, 03:43 PM
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/22-Feb-2008/125813-100_0356.jpg Just finished this one.This is my first attempt for a bigger floral.Actually not so big-12x12on canvas board.My goal was to practise blending.CxC appreciated.

Ms.Understood
02-22-2008, 05:26 PM
The blending is really well done. I thought it was colored pencils at first, just cause you can see a bit of the texture of the canvas. This is great as is, colors, composition, the blending, etc. If you wanted to, I think you could pop it up a noch by making the darks a tad darker. You could further soften the shading the canves shows with a few more layers of those blends, but it just depends on how far you want to go with the blending. I do love this color scheme.

Vanche
02-22-2008, 06:52 PM
Thank you Jenny for your comments and suggestions.I had really hard time with the darks.I am not very happy with the left side of the painting.

Fainsbert
02-22-2008, 09:38 PM
I think you did nice job on the blending, Vanche. If the left side bothers you, maybe a dark orange blend on the left side instead of the red? Just a thought. I like it the way it is, myself.
Lucie

Ms.Understood
02-22-2008, 10:05 PM
I had really hard time with the darks.I am not very happy with the left side of the painting. What don't you like? The good thing about acrylics is nothing is ever written in stone...If your talking about the left side as you view it, IMO you might extend the lip of that petal touching the edge so it lightly crops, so it doesn't seem squished in, as well as a touch more highlight, to make it seem more connected overall.

Heston
02-22-2008, 10:12 PM
Like how defined all the petals, the warms colors, really appeals to me.

gurleygirl
02-22-2008, 11:56 PM
I love the colors.
Tracey

Artchrispy
02-23-2008, 12:20 AM
Hi It's very pretty and the colors work!