PDA

View Full Version : Billows

RTi
02-21-2008, 04:05 PM
Are the guidelines for posting one thread only for the Gallery? Or does that include studio and gallery? I have a series of waves crashing against rocks that I am rather pleased with that I want to post in the Gallery but before I put those up I need some advise on the white foam areas in my foreground here. Do you think they lead the eye out along the bottom? I am not all the way done with the shadowing in the center and I think I will shadow the white foam against the right hand center rock, any and all other C&Cs welcome. 12 X 16 Arches cp block, Maimeri cyan, cerulean, magenta, sienna and Holbein Cad yellow lemon.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/21-Feb-2008/103647-100_0099.JPG

olliewood0702
02-21-2008, 04:31 PM
Ral, I'm no expert on waves but this is really lovely! You got that foam and rushing wave down great. Your angry sky is wonderful too. The rocks are very realistic and I love the palette you used. I have no critiques because I don't feel qualified to give them on this painting. GREAT JOB!

Moufflon1
02-21-2008, 06:29 PM
Ral, like Darla I'm not qualified to advise here - I just wanted to say how much I like your painting. My eye was drawn straight to the boiling waves in the middle - really convincing.

Pam

mgthorvaldsen
02-21-2008, 08:13 PM
:wave: HI! Raol, you did really well and can be pleased, Your use of color in bothe the sky and water sets tis apart, I love the seaweed effects on the rocks. Very dynamic warer, i'm not getting the sense of the the seafoam leading the eye out the bottom, it appears moe as a backwash,referring back up.

hpthecat
02-21-2008, 08:22 PM
I think the rocks along the bottom "contain" the water quite well, I'm not distracted off the page if that is what you are getting at.

My eye reads it as Marianne's did...the lower righthandish water gives the impression of rushing back to the sea....