PDA

View Full Version : My first ever acrylic canvas

MarjeK
02-21-2008, 12:55 PM
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/21-Feb-2008/129584-P1030573.JPG

Okay so this is my first attempt ever at an acrylic painting. It was inspired by a photograph I took last winter and artistically interpreted.

I have absolutely no idea what I'm doing when I paint ! I just loaded up some black and some white and used pretty much every brush I own !!! Have to say I'm quite pleased with it but constructive criticism welcomed so I can learn !

Anyway just thought I'd share my first proper painting ...have to say it was difficult to resist the temptation to make it an 'altered' piece as I love mixed media art but no, I was very good ! I just used craft shop bought acrylic paints in a very simple 'black' and 'white'!!!!!!!

Thanks for looking!

MarjeK

~~Kathleen
02-21-2008, 01:21 PM
Welcome to Wet Canvas Acrylics forum Marje.
That is wonderful, and so calming.
You show great potential here, and with two colours at first? WOW!
I may say that the trees behind the dock do not have the same slant as the other reflections in the water.
(The reference photo would be a big help here)
Keep up the wonderful work.
I like this very much.
~~Kathleen

tking
02-21-2008, 01:35 PM
Marje, I like it. Its has a very Canadian feel to it. A lot better than my first acryilic. Welcome to the forum and keep them coming.

Linee
02-21-2008, 02:22 PM
Welcome, Marje. There's a lot going for this, nice composition and mood. The dock seems to slant into the water. Kathleen mentioned the refelctions. Other than that, you've done well. You have a right to be pleased.

loobyteacher
02-21-2008, 02:40 PM
You actually started in the best way, you are forced to use all the values to make the painting work! Nice job,

dreamz
02-21-2008, 02:55 PM
You have a lot of talent waiting to be released. the best way to learn is to keep painting and I hope you continue to show us your progress

Charlie's Mum
02-21-2008, 05:29 PM