PDA

View Full Version : Recommendations - Pastel Pencils?!

Chikaminx
02-02-2008, 10:59 AM
Hi everyone :) Am just wondering if anyone can give me any advice on which brand of pastel pencils I should buy? I use Rembrandt and Sennelier soft pastels, and really need some good quality pastel pencils to use on the finer details. I do have a coloured conte stick set, but am keen to find out which pencils might be worth investing in as well?

Following is a list of those I am aware of:

Conte
Derwent
Faber-Castell Pitt
General's
Koh-I-Noor
Stabilo CarbOthello
Cretacolor

I would be really greatful if anyone could give me some advice / recommendations on this one, as my husband has forbidden me from buying one of each to compare :rolleyes:

bchlvr
02-02-2008, 11:35 AM
I'm not an expert at all...but I really like the Faber-Castell Pitt. The colors are stronger than the Derwent that I also have.

Gail V
02-02-2008, 11:47 AM
I use the CarbOthello pencils - I really like these - they are easy to sharpen - and there is a good color selection.

chewie
02-02-2008, 12:05 PM
i use both of the already mentioned ones, but i am finding more that i rather sharpen a hard faber stick and use that instead.

Merethe T
02-02-2008, 12:12 PM
I use Faber Castells, Carbothellos and Bruynzeel - all easy to sharpen, nice colors and soft. Faber sticks work well too!

Merethe

*Marina*
02-02-2008, 12:20 PM
I have the Stabilo CarboThello but find they don't have enough colour strength. Prefer to use the FC Polychromos square sticks.

Deborah Secor
02-02-2008, 01:03 PM
I recently received some of the Koh-I-Noor Gioconda pastel pencils, and I really like them. They're very soft, more like PASTEL than others. I was looking at the tin of Carb-Othellos I have and it says colored charcoal on it, which is often what 'pastel pencils' are made of, while the Giocondas are soft pastel.

I have the Cretacolors, too, and they're soft. I don't know what they're actually made of.