PDA

View Full Version : Framing Pastel Paintings

artinwc
01-27-2008, 10:36 AM
Hi,

I'm pretty new to pastels and to the pastel forums of WC (pretty familiar on the watercolor forums). I recently began playing with PanPastels and got interested in the stick pastels as well. However, I can't find a thread about how to frame pastel paintings. When I searched on "framing", it was occasionally mentioned in a few threads, but I'm sure there must be more information if I knew the right place to look. I also checked in the Studio Tips/Framing forum and found little there either.

I am used to doing my own framing of watercolors and use plexiglass as the glaze. However, I saw a few mentions of not being able to use plexiglass with pastels...and a mention of a product called Tend that reduces static.

Before I go any further with pastels, I would like to know that I will be able to frame them in an appropriate manner. I would appreciate any information anyone can provide on framing, or help with my search for more information.

Thanks so much!
Judith

sielograms
01-27-2008, 11:07 AM
I have used FrameTek spacers to keep the glass or plexiglass from touching the pastel surface. If using a mat it can go between the mat and the painting. There are some that say putint the glass right on top of the pastel is ok, but I can't bring myself to try that. The website for FrameTek is
www.frametek.com
I hope this helps.
Sharon

Paula Ford
01-27-2008, 12:44 PM
I have just framed 10 pieces in the last couple of days. Some have spacers (Econospacer) and some I framed against the glass, making sure that the painting and glass are completely secure and unmoveable in the frame. Some shows require plexi, so you can use it with pastels.

I often purchase frames that already come with glass and backing at Hobby Lobby and Michaels, which makes it an easy task to frame when using paper or Ampersand pastelbord.

Paula

P.S. One of the GREASTEST items I purchased lately is a point driver!!

artinwc