PDA

View Full Version : The Way I Paint...

AliciaS
01-22-2008, 07:25 PM
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/22-Jan-2008/118892-Longing_6x10x72.jpg I was encouraged to start this thread, because some Wcers are interested in the technique that i use.. I hope this doesn't sound self serving starting this thread....Believe me...I know very Little!! there are so many people more knowlegable than i am here. So all i can share, is how i basically teach my workshops..which is.....i just show them how i paint..
Since I am self taught, I only know the way i do things and pointers that i have learned by looking at magazines, some books,(not much of a reader) but mainly i learned by seeing...copying....yes copying! i looked for my favorite artists( who all happened to be oil painters mostly) and looked at every inche of their paintings..every stroke, use of color, and anything else i could dissect.
I always start with the background first, and move right into my ceter of interest...what ever it may be..i don't draw, i place shapes, and use different values of these shapes to define.
I focus on where i want my lost edges.
i focus on cool colors and warm . I am not a color theorist!!
I focus on the feeling i want to portray!!
alot of what i do is basically correcting as i go...and making sure i keep the main center of interest the focal point.
I try to incorporate all the basics that most teachers teach. I.e color temp, value, shapes, lost and found edges.
I do alot of things that your "not suppose to do". But it works for me.
No preliminary drawing. (I'm not especially proud of this)
No thumbnails (nor this either)
Correct as i go along. (this one i like )
So i thought if anyone has any questions to ask, feel free, and i will answer what i can.....:heart:

Gail V
01-22-2008, 09:29 PM