PDA

View Full Version : Considering Oil Pastels

sekulastudio
01-21-2008, 07:56 AM
Hello all!
I am an oil painter who is now quite curious about oil pastels. Is it true that they never dry??? That, in itself, is a big turnoff for me. If it's true, how is the surface protected? Under glass? Always under glass? Also, if they never dry, why do you prefer them over oils? I would love to hear from those of you who love this particular medium and why. I don't want to make the investment to start playing with them before getting more feedback from those of you who love them.
I am totally green where oil pastels are concerned so please don't worry that you'll insult me by talking down to me. I want to know all pros and cons.
Thanks for taking the time to respond.

Pat Isaac
01-21-2008, 08:15 AM
Hi and welcome to the OP forum. I was also an oil painter and occasionally still work in oils. I really like OPs for their ability to be both a drawing and painting medium. I really love to draw and this works for me as I can obtain results similar to oils.
It is true that they never dry, but they do set up and get hard. I always frame under glass as the jury is still out on ways to protect the surface. There is a good thread at the top of this forum called getting started in OPs - tools and materials.
There is also an article on framing OPs without glass in the oil pastel primer on the web site of the Oil Pastel Society. Here is a link.
http://www.oilpastelsociety.com/OP%20Primer-Framing%20without%20Glass-Marilynn%20Brandenburger.pdf
It took me awhile to find the brand I liked and the surface I liked to work on and I'm still experimenting with surfaces and underpaintings.
Hope this helps, and ask more questions...We're here to help.

Pat

sekulastudio
01-21-2008, 08:45 AM
Hi Pat,
Yes, this does help a lot. I must confess to having the hardest time searching the archives. Probably more due to being on dial-up than anything else. I will check out the pdf file you mention.