PDA

View Full Version : 1st post in Pastel Forum

DonP
01-13-2008, 01:30 AM
Hello All,
I recently came aboard WC in the Marine Art forum, but since I work almost exclusively in pastel, I thought I might jump in here (where there are other folks equally deranged from years of inhaling dust). Being self taught, I need to pick up all the tips I can, especially related to pastels.
The ship (USCG EAGLE) is 14 x 18" and the Planes (A-4's coming down through "a hole" to USS Oriskany) 14 x 24"- are both soft pastels and pastel pencils on Sennelier La Carte paper.
C&C most welcome.
Thanks, Don
P.S. I have never found anything that blends better than using a finger. Any ideas? I've probably absorbed too much pastel by now to make a difference anyway

Dougwas
01-13-2008, 02:28 AM
Wow!!! Great paintings Don. The planes look so real and I love the sea mist in the ship painting. You will learn lots from some very knowledgeable artists here in the pastel forum. I am sure you can pass on some tips as well.

Doug

WC Lee
01-13-2008, 04:57 AM
Beautiful paintings :) such details and I'll let you know, I was already deranged before inhaling dust :D errr I meant pastel dust, not the other stuff.

Andi Rebirth
01-13-2008, 05:18 AM
Don, I think you could teach us a few tricks of the trade. Wonderful planes and great atmosphere on the ship. Looking forward to your other works, welcome. Andi

skallagrig
01-13-2008, 05:25 AM
beautiful work, i especially like the mist on the ships, the way the rigging disappears and greys out is breathtaking.

which pastels are you using?

pastellar
01-13-2008, 06:35 AM
what excellent work, Don! Incredible detail, they compare to some of the best Marine and Aircraft artwork I've seen. I'm sure you will be able to teach us a thing or two!

Regards,
Diane

Kathryn Wilson
01-13-2008, 06:48 AM