PDA

View Full Version : Self taught educational resources

annepropst
01-01-2008, 08:32 AM
I am curious...where have those of you who did not study art in college or under a professional find your best resources to improve your techniques? I find that this web site is filled with information. Are there others you would suggest or books, dvds? Classes at art stores? :confused:What resource led to the most improvement in your pastel technique?

Pat Isaac
01-01-2008, 10:00 AM
You pose an interesting question, anne. I did go to art school in college, but over the years I continued to take classes at local art associations and even some night classes. I was always trying to learn more about various media. One thing that helped me greatly was my years of teaching public school. I had to keep learning new techniques, new media, new skills to bring it to the students. Books are a great resource. As far as oil pastel goes, I struggled with the media myself as I don't know anyone around here who uses oil pastel. I have found that learning about color, composition, and drawing carry through to all medias.

Pat

LJW
01-01-2008, 10:50 AM