PDA

View Full Version : One of Rod's flowers (ink & watercolour pencils)

Elankat
06-16-2002, 03:55 PM
I thought you guys might want to see this. It is my first time using watercolour pencils. I did this for the Rodz Art project. It's one of his flowers, with a tiny twist :) I only have the 24 color set of Derwent watercolour pencils, so the color selection was a little limited.

Micron pens & watercolour pencils on Stonehenge. Size is 3 1/2 by 5 inches.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/16-Jun-2002/Rodfairy_sm.JPG

And a close up...

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/16-Jun-2002/Rodfairy_detail.JPG

Charles Perera
06-16-2002, 06:29 PM
That's a smart job. Very imaginative, and the scene is colourful.. waiting to see it completed.

Charles

Elankat
06-16-2002, 07:04 PM
Um, it is completed. :(

TeAnne
06-16-2002, 07:13 PM
It's very gorgeous. Well done. I love that butterfly :D:clap:

K.C.
06-16-2002, 11:09 PM
Cutest Butterfly I've ever seen.

;)

Jprice022
06-16-2002, 11:17 PM
Well done. I like the butterfly.

The background is a bit too busy for my taste.

Thanks for sharing.

John

Elankat
06-17-2002, 12:10 AM
Thanks everyone.

And that's okay, John. Different tastes for different people. From what I've seen of your watercolors (which are quite lovely by the way), you like very minimalist backgrounds. :)

arlene
06-17-2002, 01:22 AM
actually i have to agree with john...your background is given as much importance as your forground making everything compete with one another.

Use one of your gray green cp's (the regular ones would work too) and do a glaze over the whole thing to tone it down, so it sits into the background a bit more. Let the flower and butterfly pop.

Elankat
06-17-2002, 09:59 AM
Originally posted by arlene
actually i have to agree with john...your background is given as much importance as your forground making everything compete with one another.