PDA

View Full Version : Reference Photos

gingerjane
12-12-2007, 12:51 PM
Hey everyone! :wave:

I might have access to some reference photos for use (I might be able to post a few here) but before I move forward with that project, can you help me understand the importance of reference photos? (Since I'm a papercrafter by trade, it helps for me to understand the artist's perspective)

My understanding is that reference photos are used more as a visual guide whenever you're creating a painting. (or drawing) With that being said, are there subjects that you would prefer to use (people or scenery?) or is there a format that you look for in reference photos. (I'm trying to figure out if I should create a downloadable .pdf or just a .jpg, etc.)

Let me know so that I can get a few things put together for you.

Also - if you have any other suggestions of items I can provide, please let me know.

Lady Carol
12-12-2007, 02:21 PM
Hi Ginger, reference photos are very important to the artist from all angles. They may be use as simply as a loose idea or to the other extreme may be reproduced meticulously.

Have you seen our Reference Library (http://www.wetcanvas.com/RefLib/)? You are very welcome to upload the images in there and that will solve the issue of the downloadable PDF. Here is a link (http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=446620)that describes the RIL and what makes suitable material. That way the images would be of use for everyone not just those who visit acrylics, unless you want to restrict who uses them.

gingerjane
12-12-2007, 02:35 PM
Thanks Carol - I'll check it out. I know that we don't want to restrict the medium for reference photos - we want everyone to have access to them.

Are reference photos used very often? I know for myself, I keep a cd of reference images that I call "sketches" because they might have various papercrafting ideas on them. It's somewhat tedious to go online and download all of the images but it works for me right now.