PDA

View Full Version : 4th Painting

Smoker
12-09-2007, 02:58 PM
MY IMAGE(S):
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Critiques/upload_spool/12-09-2007/117886_4th_picture.jpg

GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: 4th Painting
Year Created: 2007
Medium: Acrylic
Surface: Canvas
Dimension: 12x16
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
This is my 4th painting. The sky is a total loss. I painted it and let it dry. After painting the rest of the picture, I noticed that there were little white spots where the paint didn't get into the crevices. So I attempted to blend the same shade of blue and didn't get it right.<br><br>

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
Aside from the sky are there any suggestions that anyone can offer that will help me. I'm new at all this but have been trying very hard. <br><br>I can't seem to get the snow right along the building or the vehicle also along the tree line.<br><br>Any other suggestions will me most appreciated.<br><br>Smoker

Dana Design
12-10-2007, 10:09 AM
I'm assuming this is early evening, correct? When the sun is going down?

If that's the case, perhaps you could add just a bit more light to the top right of the barn roof and also place a shadow to the left of the barn on the snow.

I also don't think that the sky is that bad. You could always scumble (drag a brush with light blue paint over the dry dark blue) some lighter blue along the darkest parts of the sky.

Don't be discouraged. Just keep on painting.

Smoker
12-10-2007, 02:05 PM
Thanks Dana,:thumbsup:

Yes, you're right the time of day is early sunset.

Does the picture need something else? It seems so empty!

I'm not discouraged...just frustrated. Unless someone says, look dummy don't do that - do this, how will I ever learn how to do it right. I don't like learning from my mistakes as much as I like learning from someone elses mistakes. I learned a long time ago to take advice when it's offered, if the person giving the advice can be trusted.