PDA

View Full Version : Colors & brands

monkhaus
12-06-2007, 11:45 PM
Hey, I realize there are a number of people who have asked about what brands of oil paint are well liked, but I'm curious about which colors are the most liked from these brands. For example I like M.Graham's Quinacridone Violet a lot but can't stand their Raw Umber.

I'm relatively new to oil and have used Graham, Holbein, and Winsor & Newton's Winsor line (ugh) and Artisan (ugh). Having a little money handy I wanted to buy a few tubes and play around with them. I have a list of manufacturers below (having read about many here on WC) and want an idea of peoples' color preferences from these companies. Or others if I've missed someone wonderful. Which colors are particularly great in your estimation?

If it helps, my main interest is landscape, still life, etc. but not really portraiture. Thank you for all assistance! Or feel free to tell me this is a silly idea.

Holbein
Graham
Harding
Vasari
Blue Ridge
W&N's Artist
Sennelier
Maimeri
Williamsburg
Schmincke
Rembrandt
OH
Blockx
Art Spectrum

gunzorro
12-07-2007, 12:18 AM
I'm easy.

Holbein No
Graham No
Harding Yes
Vasari Super Yes
Blue Ridge Maybe -- curious
W&N's Artist Hmmm
Sennelier Hmmm
Maimeri Wait a while
Williamsburg Maybe
Schmincke Mussini Yes
Rembrandt Hmmm
OH Yes
Blockx Yes
Art Spectrum The cheapest quality of those listed. No

To summarize:

Vasari Super Yes
Harding Yes
Schmincke Mussini Yes
OH Yes
Blockx Yes

Also add -- Doak as Yes

monkhaus
12-07-2007, 12:34 AM
So which colors for your positives make you sit up and go "wow!"? Ya know gunzorro, you're such a fount of information... thanks so much for your time.

DLGardner
12-07-2007, 09:59 AM
If I ever have extra money (is there such a thing) I always go for Old Holland. I've never tried Vasari...actually I'm not sure who retails it here in the states. But OH to me are the prize.